Prince greatest hits album, unreleased material coming in November

The 40-song collection arrives in November.

The 40-song collection arrives in November.


The scouring of the Prince vaults has begun.

NPG Records and Warner Bros. Records will release two Prince albums – the first material unveiled since his death in April – that include a serving of unreleased material.

On Nov. 22, “Prince 4Ever” arrives – a 40-song collection spotlighting his well-worn radio hits (“Kiss,” “Little Red Corvette,” “Raspberry Beret,” “Let’s Go Crazy” among them) as well as the unreleased “Moonbeam Levels.” The song was originally recorded in 1982 for possible inclusion on the never-released “Rave Unto the Joy Fantastic” album (easily confused with “Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic,” which was released in 1999).

The collection will also contain a 12-page booklet of never-before-seen Prince photos taken by Herb Ritts.

Prince fans can also anticipated the early 2017 release of a remastered, deluxe version of “Purple Rain.” Along with the freshened tracks, a second album of previously unreleased material will accompany the 1984 soundtrack. Plans for the reissue were already solidified before Prince died.

 Here is the tracklisting for “Prince 4Ever”:

  1. 1999
    2. Little Red Corvette
    3. When Doves Cry
    4. Let’s Go Crazy
    5. Raspberry Beret
    6. I Wanna Be Your Lover
    7. Soft and Wet
    8. Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad
    9. Uptown
    10. When You Were Mine
    11. Head
    12. Gotta Stop (Messin’ About)
    13. Controversy
    14. Let’s Work
    15. Delirious
    16. I Would Die 4 U
    17. Take Me With U
    18. Paisley Park
    19. Pop Life
    20. Purple Rain
    21. Kiss
    22. Sign ‘O’ The Times
    23. Alphabet Street
    24. Batdance
    25. Thieves In The Temple
    26. Cream
    27. Mountains
    28. Girls & Boys
    29. If I Was Your Girlfriend
    30. U Got The Look
    31. I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man
    32. Glam Slam
    33. Moonbeam Levels
    34. Diamonds and Pearls
    35. Gett Off
    36. Sexy MF
    37. My Name Is Prince
    38. 7
    39. Peach
    40. Nothing Compares 2 U


View Comments 0